Great Moments In Film – Goodfellas (1990)

I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: Goodfellas is based on the first half, My Blue Heaven based on the second. Interesting how different interpretations can be, isn’t it?

It’s really difficult to pick one scene to showcase. Ultimately, I had to go with the “Layla” montage. Scorsese had an outstanding ear for music and this is just a sample of it. As we see the results of a murder rampage (to tie up loose ends, you see), we hear the sublime music of Derek and the Dominoes playing in the background. It’s quite an experience to witness dead body after dead body while listening to such a beautiful song. However, it makes sense in their world. By “whacking” all of those who could lead the authorities back to them, it’s cause for celebration.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

~ by chrislejarzar on February 24, 2011.

5 Responses to “Great Moments In Film – Goodfellas (1990)”

  1. […] Great Moments In Film ? Goodfellas (1990): I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: … – Readmore […]

  2. […] Great Moments In Film ? Goodfellas (1990): I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: … – Readmore […]

  3. […] Great Moments In Film ? Goodfellas (1990): I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: … – Readmore […]

  4. […] Great Moments In Film ? Goodfellas (1990): I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: … – Readmore […]

  5. […] Common Conceptions Goodfellas February 26, 2011 By admin GoodFellas (Two-Disc Special Edition): GoodFellas (Two-Disc Special Edition) When Martin Scorsese, one of the world’s most respected and talented directors, with two Oscar-winners Robert De Niro reunite in GoodFellas, the result was one of the most powerful films of the year. Based on the true life bestseller Wiseguy by Nicholas Pileggi and by a dynamic pop / rock oldies … – ReadmoreReview: 25.02.11 Goodfellas | 2011: A Film Odyssey: Director: Martin Scorcese Stars: Ray Liotta, Joe Pesci, Robert De Niro, Lorraine Bracco “As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster.” This week’s theme could easily have been ‘Martin Scorcese movies that should have … – ReadmoreGreat Moments In Film ? Goodfellas (1990): I’m sure we’ve all seen Goodfellas, so I won’t go into great detail about what it’s about. I will mention that you can treat the Steve Martin comedy My Blue Heaven (released in the same year) as a sequel to this masterpiece directed by Martin Scorsese. It’s true. Both are based on the same book: … – Readmore […]

Leave a Reply

 
